Posted in Cape Town

Cape Town

I’d heard the hype.  Everyone told me ‘You’ll love it!”.  Nevertheless, we postponed our original trip at Christmas and decided to visit Cape Town during School Spring holiday in March.  We only had 7 days available, but thought this was preferable to the two weeks we would have spent in South Africa at Christmas.

Cape Town
Cape Town

First view of Table Mountain
First view of Table Mountain

V& A Cape Town
V& A Cape Town

I think we may have been wrong about that.  It was wonderful – all the more so when you arrive there from Zambia. Still Africa, but the differences between the two are extreme. It felt like a wonderful treat, I could have happily stayed longer.

We were incredibly lucky with the weather, unfortunate timing for seeing whales but we saw dolphins in front of our hotel near the V&A Waterfront.

Can you spot the dolphins?
Can you spot the dolphins?

We started in Cape Town, and spent a couple of days there; we went surfing (or in my case, shark-spotting) in Muizenberg.  From there we drove down the eastern side of the Cape Peninsula to the Cape of Good Hope and Cape Point.

 

 

SONY DSC
Jackass Penguins at Simon’s Town.

 

These penguins actually do sound like Jackasses braying, hence the name.

The weather was against us for a trip up Table Mountain, so we continued on our journey to Hermanus.

SONY DSC

The Marine at Hermanus is an old-fashioned type of hotel; the restaurant Seafood At the Marine served THE BEST salmon I have ever had. Honestly. I’m not sure I can ever eat salmon again.

We took kayaks out from the old harbour and visited the young male fur seals that like to hang out among the kelp. I have no photos of them, unfortunately, as I have a history of falling out of sea kayaks, with my camera tucked inside my life jacket. I didn’t fall in this time (and probably won’t ever again) but as dry bags weren’t provided, I wasn’t prepared to risk it!

The kayaks set off from this gorgeous little old harbour. I loved it.
IMG_2310 SONY DSC

I missed out on swimming in the ‘sea-water’ swimming pool. I noticed it the first morning when I got up at sunrise to take pictures (See featured image at the top). There were some people, locals I assume, swimming at 6am, and I decided I would brave the chilly temperatures the following day. Unfortunately, it was EVEN chillier the next day and I chickened out. SONY DSC

After another couple of hours of surfing (or, in my case, flailing around on a body board in a wetsuit – attractive!), we headed north to Stellenbosch.

I appear to have failed to take photos of Stellenbosh, other than the walk we did to this waterfall. It was beautiful and we were lucky enough to have it all to ourselves.

Waterfall at Jonkershoek Nature Reserve
Waterfall at Jonkershoek Nature Reserve

The entire week passed by in a flash. We would love to go back, there was so much we didn’t have time to do and see.

Leave a Reply

