Posted in Uncategorized

What does 610 kg LOOK like?

Image

Things are moving on a bit since we discovered that we are moving to Zambia – but only a bit.  I have placed some unwanted furniture items on an email and distributed to the local school community.  We have chosen a school (but not paid the deposit), we have seen the house on a Skype tour, but haven’t decided what we will take with us.  This is a subject of on-going debate (but mainly one- sided.  Oddly enough my family aren’t as interested in these things as I am).

 

We only have 610kg allowance (plus baggage allowance on the flight out there), the rest of our worldly belongings will be placed in storage for the foreseeable future; and being told that you have to pay for your own storage (for however long that might be: 3 years, 6 years, more?) really focuses the mind.  You start viewing each piece of furniture in € signs.  For example:  “That wardrobe is going to cost me 722€ to store over 3 years : if we are gone for 6 years, it will be 1444€.  How much do I really like it?”.  The answer: It’s on the ‘for sale’ list! 

 

Mildly interesting if it wasn’t so stressful.  And I’m sure only interesting to me! Still, I will post photographs of my packing successes (and failures) as they unfold. 

If you know what 610 kg looks like, let me know!

 

One thought on “What does 610 kg LOOK like?

Leave a Reply

