And that's all she wrote

The adventure of moving to Zambia

amaka

CrossFit Zambia style

2 Comments

For anyone expecting a blog on Zambia, I am afraid this one might disappoint. I am going to be a bit self-indulgent today and discuss fitness.

I have decided to be ever so modern and hip, I have just joined my brand new local CrossFit box, named CrossFit Amaka. As far as I am aware, it is the first ever CrossFit box in Zambia (let alone Lusaka). The induction session (Base Camp) was on Saturday, and my first ‘official’ WOD (Workout Of the Day for you non-CrossFitters out there) was this morning.

amaka

Not me!

Not me!

On waking this morning, I thought my biggest problem was going to be my quads. Standing up and sitting down were very real challenges for me on Sunday. I felt a bit tight this morning but nothing tooooo unbearable. I foolishly thought I would work through it.

However, the WOD today focused on arms and upper body. I can’t remember the terminology, I think the pain has affected my brain. But let’s just say that washing my hair after the workout was more work than I’ve ever noticed before, I can’t comfortably raise my arms above elbow level, and driving to work, I was just glad it was mostly a straight road.

This is all just one hour after the class. What on EARTH am I going to do tomorrow?!!! I’ll tell you what – another WOD!

Just by the way, as I embark on this journey, I notice an article in Sunday’s Guardian: oh dear.  This one from July 2013 was a little more positive.

In for a penny…

2 thoughts on “CrossFit Zambia style

  1. Stumbled upon your blog whilst googling amaka crossfit. Well done, friend, and inspiring me to begin my own. Tomorrow. Or the next day. :-)

    • Thanks, Susan! Funny enough, I don’t seem to have had as much time to write my blog lately. For mostly the right reasons though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers